Confirm Before Deleting WordPress Trash

I recently watched someone who using their phone and tablet for everything manage posts on their WordPress blog. One they intended to keep ended up in the Trash by mistake. Restoring it is easy enough, but the ‘Restore’ and ‘Delete Permanently’ links are very close to each other on a mobile screen and I got a little nervous seeing them tap restore 30px away from the kill button.

I’ve created a simple WordPress plugin that adds a confirmation step in the admin area before deleting or emptying the Trash.

It’s a pretty simple thing, just a little JavaScript to make sure the click was deliberate. Give it a go if you’d rather have an extra click than possibly try and recover a post from a site backup.

Download the Plugin

Trash Fail Safe for WordPress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *